The best Lighting Solution for grow lights!

I tend to stay away from catchy titles and claims that so and so is the best since I know it’s never true. But for my use case, this is the best option I could find and it’s also the most modular and cheapest.

Track Lighting Grow lights?

My wife asked me about purchasing some lights, gave me her phone and said this is what she was looking for.
https://soltech.com/products/highland-track-light-system

She grows a similar collection of plants in living room window and during the winter months these plants struggle to get the sunlight they need. I literally calculated the costs and benefits of such a lighting system as her plant setup requires 2 of these for a total cost of… $1,400

As an apprentice to an electrician, I have some experience installing such lighting and am full aware of the costs of some of these lighting setups. But the major flaw in quality I always stumble upon, is the inability to upgrade or repair such a lighting system. It’s also very limited to proprietary hardware which is dependent on the fact that this business will continue to provide service and parts, and if it’s popular enough that others will create parts for such a new system.

Wait a minute ,this is just PLAIN track lighting with Proprietary HW!

Enter, H track Lighting. This is one of the most basic, common and cheapest around. Most hardware stores still carry this out of a reluctance to maintain support because it’s so old and terrible that any new system is better in almost every way, but never cheaper and never as well supported. So you’ll still find this type of lighting solution everywhere.

Which is why when it came to the topic of installing a new set of grow lights I searched Home Depot to estimate how much it would cost to build an incredibly cheap Lighting solution for Grow lamps.

If you look around the internet you can find incredibly good and cheap light bulbs for around $30 each. And Amazon has track lighting for even lass than Home Depot. Just up some wood and hang this in your ceiling and you have a %100 modular cheaper and repairable solution compared to the $1400 brand name stuff.

Yeah I made that ladder from a 2×4 just to hang stuff.

Is this a fire hazard? Of course. Track lighting is notorious for being easy to screw up and the sockets are an outdated technology that refuses to go away. But for a cheap and simple solution, it’s a very good option for most and the best one for my needs. I’m not including costs because I recycled some wiring and I cut some corners but work with that you have and use or learn those skills to grow your hobby. Don’t just buy into it.

Extra note. If you see on the side my wife also found some lamps that accept a standard bulb and that also can be used to install smaller lower power bulbs, and thanks for LED technology running this many from one outlet is actually safer than (1) 100Watt standard Bulb, just do the math to spread the load.

(4) 16 Watt LED Bulbs + (3) 9 Watt Led Bulbs = 91 Watts

https://www.tiktok.com/t/ZT8ECn1Ub/